Notices
All Other Vehicles Concepts and non-Toyotas...

Extremely Neat Future Scion Vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2006, 03:02 AM
5 Year Member

Default Extremely Neat Future Scion Vehicle

I'm reposting this here, because I'm a noob and tried to post in in off-topic but I'm too new and it was bumped to xB owners lounge.

I don't usually make a new thread unless I really have to or have a good idea. So here's my good idea.

I have a pretty thorough understanding of the auto industry now, and I'm convinced this is a feasible idea.

Scion is all about exclusivity (see Scion Plays Hard to Get article on front page.) The tC is major proof of this, as it was developed and marketed in only one market (albeit the biggest) and built virtually from scratch to be sold inexpensively at relatively limited numbers. It combines parts and assemblies from various other Toyota's (Camry drivetrain, Avensis chassis, Toyota OE wheels) and adds unique body and interior to make something completely original - not only within Toyota but over the whole market. The tC project was probably looked at as moderately risky by Toyota, and as Scion is a brand for "testing new ideas," it was well worth the risk.

OK I'm amazed if you're still reading, the idea:

Make a front engine, rear wheel drive Scion 2-door hatch as small as possible, and try and sell it for around $22,000 USD.

Obviously the body and interior would be completely unique. For this I would suggest styling as basic and clean as the tC but with more of a sport/enthusiast theme.

The drivetrain would come from the longitudinal 3S-GE engine/6-speed units and differentials from the old Altezza (JDM)/IS200 (UK), which I'm sure Toyota is still capable of producing reasonably.

The chassis would likely come from the Toyota Caldina GT-Four AWD chassis (JDM) - it could be shortened and modified to fit the bill just as the Avensis chassis was for the tC. Remember, I said to keep it as small as possible.