Notices
Maintenance & Car Care Tune-ups and shake-downs...

Blacking Tires?

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2005, 03:38 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Scikotics
SL Member

Default Blacking Tires?

I am fairly new to going to car shows. I invested in some tire black for my sidewalls to help sharpen up my ride. The stuff I got though, only does the sidewalls and not the tread. It is Black Magic's tire black that comes in the oblong dispenser with the sponge on it to apply the black.

When I go to shows, the tires of the other cars look like they have never even seen a road. The tires look perfect. Does anyone have any tips to get the whole tire to look the same? Thanks
Old 10-21-2005, 04:06 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Scikotics
SL Member

you need to get the aerosol cans theres quite a few companys that make it, you can go to any automotive store to get it to, the sponges just dont let you get into the tread very well, with the spray it gets in there perfectly
Old 10-21-2005, 05:37 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Try out Meguiar's NXT Generation Insane Tire Shine - it's just that.
Old 10-21-2005, 05:46 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Some of those tires at car shows have really never seen the road

But, yes, if you drive to the show you would have to clean, then apply tire shine to the tread... Just make sure you wash it off good before you drive home.

Or..... You could slam your car so low that you can't see the tread!

-THE DON
Old 10-25-2005, 07:27 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

I really like the product called "More shine, Less time." It is a spray can that has a nice, tight spray pattern. You don't get the stuff all over your wheels or fenders. It does a great job, lasts a long time, and does not make your tires turn brown, like Armorall, for example. I clean the tires first by spraying on Eagle One "All Whee & Tire Cleaner" and sprying off with a hose. This does a good job on the wheels as well.
Old 10-25-2005, 07:40 PM
Max