Notices
Maintenance & Car Care Tune-ups and shake-downs...

A Heads up on TSB's (Rant from a Toyota Tech.)

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2004, 06:46 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default A Heads up on TSB's (Rant from a Toyota Tech.)

Ok, I found this from ToyotaNation.com...

Its a good read...

"Rant from a Toyota Tech
/rant on

Well it happened again Saturday, its almost a common occurance, and its something that I wish people would become educated on. I received a work order that read ?Customer states rattle from sunroof area, per customer TSB cover this problem?.

I have been a Toyota technician since April of 1991 but it just amazes me that someone can sit down and read something on the internet and automatically think they know more than I do. Just because you read that there is a TSB out for your vehicle DOES NOT mean it automatically applies to your vehicle. In fact out of all the work orders I receive where the CUSTOMER SAYS the sunroof TSB applies, the TSB actually fixed maby 1 out of 4 of these vehicles. I so wish that you guys would just go and tell the service advisor what your problem actually is and let ME THE TECHNICIAN decide if there is a TSB for your problem or if its something else, FORGET THE TSB?S YOU HAVE READ AND DO NOT EVEN MENTION IT.

Here is where the problem comes in:

Service Advisor?s Job - A good service advisor puts all the information you tell them into the work order for your vehicle, if you mention a TSB they put it in that you mentioned the TSB.

Warranty Administrator?s Job ? A warranty administrator?s job is to get me paid (YES I DO THIS FOR A LIVING). Now a warranty administrator also ensures that I don?t screw warranty by doing extra stuff.