Notices
Maintenance & Car Care Tune-ups and shake-downs...

New Scion Dying?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2004, 03:14 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Default New Scion Dying?

Sweet Holy Mother Of God. I'm a wreck.

My new 2004 xB, which I've had for less than three months, with a grand total of 2000 miles on it... is making a noise. A bad noise. From the engine. Now, I'm no mechanic, this thing is starting to sound like a friggin diesel truck, and something tells me that ain't good.

My dealer can't be bothered until tomorrow to look at it, so my question is to you guys, who possibly are mechanics, or have met mechanics, or can spell "mechanic"... what's it mean when you have a loud rattling sound when you hit the gas? As I mentioned, it brings a diesel engine to mind. It seems a little underpowered too, but that could be my imagination or the fact that xBs are underpowered.

Any relatively intelligent input would be much appreciated.
Old 03-24-2004, 04:47 PM
Former Sponsor
SL Member
DelMarVa
Scion Tuners

Could be any # of problems. Pre-ignition due to a spark plug issue or the vehicle running in a lean condition could be the problem, but so could a valve problem. I would take the vehicle to your closest Scion dealership ASAP.
Old 03-24-2004, 07:45 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Re: New Scion Dying?

Originally Posted by sosumi
Sweet Holy Mother Of God. I'm a wreck.

My new 2004 xB, which I've had for less than three months, with a grand total of 2000 miles on it... is making a noise. A bad noise. From the engine. Now, I'm no mechanic, this thing is starting to sound like a friggin diesel truck, and something tells me that ain't good.