Notices
Off-topic Cafe Meet the others and talk about whatever...

commercial vehicles and you!

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2007, 01:33 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default commercial vehicles and you!

okay boys and girls, i am getting EXTREMELY tired of reading about you guys getting hit by semi's, 18-wheelers, vehicles towing trailors, tow trucks, panal vans, conversion vans, coach buses, rental moving vans, international cxt, rxt, and chevy kodiak, and ford 450, 550 and 650 or any other vehicles with ENORMOUS BLINDSPOTS!

this is my own little public service anouncement to try and educate you. now who am i to teach you you might ask? i am a tc driver who spends tens of thousands of miles every year on the interstate and have learned alot about sharing the road with commercial vehicles.

there are two places you want your car to be in proximity to a commercial vehicle, either completely behind them, or completely ahead of them. the two places you do not want to be is along side of them on either the left or the right, but more so on the left.

the saying goes that if you can't see the truck's mirrors, they can't see you. which is true, but just because you see the truck's mirrors doesn't mean he sees you. in my silver tc, even witht he headlights on in the day time, have nearly been hit by a commercial vehicle while it was changing from the right lane to the left. so never ever ride alongside a commercial vehicle.

stay even farther away from uhauls, or any other rental moving vehicles. the people driving these things are even less capable than reguler truckers at determining if they have room to change lanes, so stay away from them!

when driving down the interstate, keep an eye out about lanes ending, merging, and exits. truckers may not at all be familiar with the area and might make sudden manuevers to make a turn or change lanes at the last minute because they are lost or afraid of missing an exit.