Notices
Off-topic Cafe Meet the others and talk about whatever...

Need to vent!

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2008, 12:48 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member

Default Need to vent!

As my sig says, I'm a Nissan tech and let me tell you guys something! I got an '08 Altima today with only 1,868 miles with an SES light on, so I check it out. I have to call Nissan support for help since the car is new and turns out that I need to repace the CVT trans! This sucks for the customer since they just bought this car a few months ago. They probably think they are buying a lemon.

Also for the past few days, I've had an '04 Quest with a "crank but no start" condition. I run a few tests on it and find out that the battery and the starter needs replacing...fine! After replacing these 2 items, vehicle still doesn't run. Turns out that the timing chain jumped and is off timing. Need to remove the timing chain cover, which pays 6 hours and I also have to check compression to see if any of the valves in the heads are bent. Again, I feel bad for the customer cause this isn't covered under warranty anymore! Hopefully when I remove the cover, I ONLY have to replace the chain and nothing else cause this job can get real expensive...

I'm really starting to get annoyed with this automotive business...
Old 02-21-2008, 01:15 AM
10 Year Member

5 Year Member
Fail, INC
Club One

SL Member

geez I hope my Murano holds up.....
Old 02-21-2008, 02:02 PM
UV7
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member

I hear ya, Metro.
I was a die-hard GM fanatic for many years, but can't stand the company anymore! I've owned an LT1 T/A, 35th Anniv. Z28, '85 Camaro, '06 Cobalt SS, and still own a 420hp+ IROC-Z!
I've personally watched their cars go to $#it over the years and have been amazed at the crap I've had to deal with.
I sold my '85 Camaro in late '98 with over 190,000 miles on the clock. As far as I know, it is still running today.