Regional - Pacific Northwest
ID, OR, WA

You won't believe it!

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2010, 03:26 AM
SL Member

Cool You won't believe it!

Well it happened like this...

I was driving to work this week on Maple Valley Hwy (50 mph limit), when I was pulled over by a cop.

He asked for my information and then asked if I knew how fast I was going. The right answer is "I have no idea", the real answer, as he noted was 75mph. He also said I was tailgating. I told him "really? Are you sure? I didn't realize it." He replied, "I saw you tailgating so close that three cars got out of your way!" My reply was "I tailgated all three?" He said "Yes, and with the excessive speed, that adds wreckless driving to the deal. You're looking at some hefty fines here!" I replied "Oh God no, I must have been just concentrating on getting to work, because I'm a retired disabled veteran." He said "Really? What branch?" I told him Air Force and he began to tell me he was also a partially disabled vet in the Army.

I began to wonder why he was spending so much time with me and not back in his car running my plates and license while whipping out several tickets and a tow truck.

This is when he shocked me, no, not with a taser. He asked me if I had any tickets on my license and I told him I hadn't had one since before the military, because if you get caught speeding on or off base you would have your base driving priviledges taken away for a year. He said "I know what you mean." He then paused and said "...how about we make this stop a learning lesson. Here's your paperwork. Drive safely." He then walked back to his vehicle and left.

I was still sitting there with my window down, in the dark, with a blank stare on my face, looking into the darkness as if I had just seen a ghost and dare not look away. This couldn't be true! I had just beat the odds of a white, middle-aged man, getting out of what could have been a blow to my bank account for the next three years.