Notices
Scion tC 1G Aero & Exterior Aero parts and exterior dress items...

Obsidian Bodykit Installation Questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2007, 01:45 AM
DMT
5 Year Member

Default Obsidian Bodykit Installation Questions

I have been thinking about getting the Obsidian Widebody kit, and I wanted to know what kind of modifications need to be made to the car to accomodate the kit. I realize that a pro install is needed, so I'd have to find some one who knows what they are doing.

Also, if anyone else has this kit, please tell me what the major issues are with the kit. Any major problems with installation or integrity of the kit? Does it wobble? Sturdy construction? Anything to keep in mind about the kit? Whats the estimated cost for pro installation? Custom painting?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm new to all of this.

Here's a mockup of what it'd look like in the end:

Old 11-12-2007, 02:29 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Just make sure its what you want because you do have to cut a section out of your fenders and quarter panels so going back would be hella expensive.

--Keith
Old 11-12-2007, 02:43 AM
DMT
5 Year Member

What about wheel clearance and having to extend the wheels out? Does that affect handling?
Old 11-12-2007, 02:49 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

When i talked to chris at Krazykustoms that designed the kit he said 3" would have to be cut from fenders and quarter panel for install so the wider wheels would clear. Yeah you would have to get wider wheels to make it look right. Give it a wider stance would improve handling for sure.

--Keith
Old 11-12-2007, 02:52 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Ronin Scion
SL Member
Premium Member

yup but wider wheels would make it heavy too and you will have a very slow car unless you have a turbo.. Its nice though
Old 11-12-2007, 03:01 AM
DMT
5 Year Member

Its automatic, so its already kinda slow... What about spacers and keeping the stock rims? Can this car still be a daily driver?
Old 11-12-2007, 03:14 AM
DMT