Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

2,000 miles over warranty... need new block??

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2010, 12:26 AM

Default 2,000 miles over warranty... need new block??

So the other day I was driving and my temp gauge maxed out so I pulled over to the nearest place and had Firestone look at it, they said I had a coolant leak and needed a new head gasket for 1200.00 fml, and so after that I thought that has to be bull____ its a newer car so i went to the toyota/scion dealership and they thought there was no way, they rarely see that, and then I get a call today saying that my car had been running hot and that they need to replace the entire block for 5 grand and that since its out of warranty they can't help. I've been trying to go higher and higher in management but nobody is helping much. I'm a college student working for 8 dollars and hour and 5 thousand is unheard of for me to afford, no help from parents. I don't know what to do, has anyone else had anything like this happen to them? If so let me know if you have any advice for me. Oh and the mileage is 62,000. I don't drive it hard and get oil changed every 5k.
Old 10-27-2010, 01:30 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

This is a known problem with the 2az-fe engine's. Could be possible that the head studs are stripped and the head bolts are slowly loosening, which can probably explain why you need a new block. If that is the case, there is a chance you can re-thread the block. Otherwise, I would just tell you to swap in another used engine. I have only seen this happen once personally, but when you google search it, it's apparently a common problem.
Old 10-27-2010, 02:40 AM

Originally Posted by N0AuTHoRiTy