Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Damage from racing headers

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2007, 04:29 AM
10 Year Member

5 Year Member
SL Member
Scinergy
Team ScioNRG

Default Damage from racing headers

I haven't seen this topic anywhere yet. I currently have a Megan Racing racing header installed on my 06 tC. I have heard after the fact that due to the increased airflow, if the valves and such are stock that it causes the cylinders to combust hotter. therefore over time, possibly damaging the valves, head, etc. Anyone out there in the community that is a seasoned mechanic, would love the input.
Old 08-14-2007, 04:33 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Fail, INC
Club One
SL Member

I don't see how that would be possible, but I'm by no means an expert.
Old 08-14-2007, 04:39 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member

bump
Old 08-14-2007, 07:02 AM
Former Sponsor
SL Member

here's a relevant article
http://www.uucmotorwerks.com/html_pr...torquemyth.htm

its even more unlikely to occur on MAF cars since the "actual" airflow is measured to estimate how much fuel to inject.
Old 08-14-2007, 06:54 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member

Given the MAF sensor and the O2 sensor, the car will keep itself within its parameters unless you shove more air in than the ECU can handle. You arent increasing pressure in the cylinder (like boost does) and are still pulling in the same air from outside, so there should be no issue with running lean.

Even cars with a MAP sensor instead of MAF, you still calculate airflow and mixture and the ECU compensates. Of course, cars with MAP sensors will run a little off if you change altitude greatly during one drive (no shutdown), like driving up pikes peak, but they would even be fine and actually should run richer, not leaner than normal in that case anyway. MAP equipped cars re-measure the static atmospheric pressure at startup, which "Resets" that issue so to speak.