Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

FLYWHEEL

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2006, 09:21 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default FLYWHEEL

can someone explain what this is? yeah im a noob, but we all gotta start somewhere right? so.. what can a better "flywheel" do for my car?

lemme know! thanks is advanced!
Old 11-03-2006, 10:04 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member

A flywheels is the part of the engine/transmission coupling point that the clutch rests against. When you release the clutch pedal, the clutch disc comes into contact with it. The friction between the two allows the engine to turn the transmission. It also is surrouned by teeth that the starter engages to start the engine.

The flywheel is also a means for storing kinetic engery. Due to the properties of inertia, a heaviear flywheel will help to keep the engine at whatever constant speed it is currently spinning. So a heavy flywheel makes for a better launch, since the engine does not slow down as quickly. However it also makes your engine speed rise and lower in a slower fashion due to inertia. A lighter flywheel will make your car rev quicker and drop rpm quicker, but is not as good for launching because of this fact.

Contrary to the way it tricks an inertial dyno (like a dynojet) or what some companies say, a lighter flywheel "adds" or "releases" zero power. All it does is allow the engine to spin up or down quicker.

So, buying a lighter one comes down to the decision of whether you want the engine to hold its momentum more effectively on launch, or if you want it to rev and slow down faster, which is good for rev matching on a track.

I am, however, assuming you have a manual. The flywheel is replaced with a torque convertor on an auto.
Old 11-03-2006, 10:39 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

i ahve manual.. ur knowledge frightens me.. teach me more...!
Old 11-04-2006, 04:04 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Scikotics