Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

How to Polish and Port your engine head

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2006, 02:36 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default How to Polish and Port your engine head

If anyone is daring enough to give it a try I found a good DIY.

http://www.sa-motorsports.com/diyport.shtm

It may take awhile but instead of sending $400 you can get 20hp for almost for free.
Old 01-07-2006, 02:42 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Scion Justice League of America
SL Member

You leave out the fact of how tough it is to even get to the head and take it off and re-install it....

I'm a confident installer, and do everything myself, but even I know when to conceed defeat and let the pros do what they do best....

Even reading that.... around 10 times, I had to sit and ask myself... how would I do that and know that perfectly....

Some guys on here can't even change their springs..... 400 bucks is nothing for the detail, time, and perfection I'd insist on - For a P&P job!
Old 01-07-2006, 03:18 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

$400 only gets you the polish, $600+ for installation. I've replaced a head gasket on 2.2L engine and it's not hard it's just time consuming. If you pay attention and torque the bolts the right ft/lbs in the correct order the installation should go smooth.
The hard part of the installation is remebering the order that you removed the parts so that it's fits together correctly.

I just put that link incase somebody wonder what was involved in the polishing process.
Old 01-07-2006, 04:20 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SoCal tC Club
SL Member
Scion Evolution

hahaha man that is so old school and main old school muscle and honda. no offense to anyone.

there is more to PnP then jus drilling and making things bigger. but i know what your trying to get out of this.