Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

low-rpm power mods?

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2005, 05:56 PM
5 Year Member

Default low-rpm power mods?

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to tuning but it seems like most mods out there are geared towards giving you top end power... looking at dynos for headers, intakes, and exhaust it looks like they give you nothing in low end and actually sometimes takes away power...

anyway, for normal driving i'm always within the 2-4k rpm range... is there any mods out there that would give any kind of boost in that range? other than F/I?

and even with F/I, a turbo gives you mainly top end power too right? so is a supercharger the only good option?
Old 07-27-2005, 06:01 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

turbos can give full boost at a lower rpm

a custom turbo setup with a quick spooling ball bearing turbo would give you power in the range you're using (as well as above)
Old 07-27-2005, 06:05 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member

A screw or roots type supercharger would help But even the trd will be centrifugal, which still exhibits lag, although many times not quite as pronounced as a turbo, it is still there.

Here is how to look at it. HP = (tq * rpm)/5252. You want to increase torque in this application. So one thing NOT to do is use a light weight flywheel. You could start with a camcom and try tweaking the timing curves to optimize for lower rpm performance. Lighter weight 17" wheels would help you get more use out of your power across the whole band, especially at launch.

Sorry, not a ton of info, but a little anyways.
Old 07-27-2005, 06:27 PM
5 Year Member

hmm, so besides F/I, there's really nothing to add or replace on the engine that would help?

just tuning the engine and getting lighter tires?
Old 07-27-2005, 08:47 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member