Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

New clutch and flywheel installed

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2005, 08:00 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member

Default New clutch and flywheel installed

I got my Clutchmasters Stage III clutch (clutchmasters.com) and 8lb Fidanza flywheel (titanmotorsports.com) installed today. The difference........ just wow. A couple of things. The clutch catches really quickly. Just how I like. The engine actually is running and idling smoother it seems with the new flywheel. You wouldn't typically think it would but it does! The shifting is very smooth and the RPMs drop on clutch very quickly. Revving is great.

I could swear that on the freeway the RPMs are running lower than before - but that's my imagination I'm sure. Much like I have the DC Sport double carbon strut bar - the one that causes a knocking sound - that knocking seems to not happen anymore either. But that might be my imagination too. I am not imagining, though, that there is noticably more power available in each gear. For example, "hard acceleration" doesn't require a heavy foot anymore, and going from 70 to 80 on the freeway in 5th gear takes almost no effort.

The kevlar clutch has a 450-500 mile breakin period - so I have to drive nice for the next couple tanks of gas (e.g. no hard acceleration, no engine braking).

These drivetrain components are a great modification. It will compliment the ScionSpeed stage II kit I'm expecting soon very well.

In other news - the old clutch and flywheel were in exceptional shape after 18,000 miles - and that's with me riding it around like yo girlfriend when I know you're almost home!
Old 06-11-2005, 08:38 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

koo koo, so how much green paper did this set you back?
Old 06-11-2005, 08:57 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member