Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Shifting is very slow!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2006, 06:22 AM
5 Year Member

Default Shifting is very slow!!!

Hello, I just purchased a 2007 TC and I have a question about the manual transmission. I am an experienced stick driver, but not very technical in terms of how I am going to describe this, but here goes...

When shifting, as I step on the clutch, I notice the RPMs raise and there is a delay before I am in the next gear. It isn't a transmission problem or anything, it just seems like the clutch and shifting are too slow. Why do the RPMs raise a tiny bit when I step on the clutch? What can be done to address this?

Thanks so much for any help. And please remember, I am not very technical on cars so a simplified answer would be fantastic!!! Thanks again.
Old 10-30-2006, 06:25 AM

10 Year Member

5 Year Member

SoCal tC Club
SL Member
Team N.V.S.
Scinergy
Scion Evolution

combination of throttle lag from the drive-by-wire and the hydraulic clutch.. it seems... or just the lag...

you can't really do anything but get used to it... i have and i'm fine driving it now.

yea..... it's weird... i know... but you'll get used to it.
Old 10-30-2006, 12:42 PM
5 Year Member

Default 07' scion tc transmition

Guy's is crazybut i have the same question???? why the rpm are going down so slow???? i have the same tc07' with injen cols air intake and sp2 greddy exaust.
Old 10-30-2006, 01:33 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

as sqallLheart says, try to get used to it. I'm coming from driving a few Honda's but now I find myself shifting slowly and in a very "lazy" way. Some also say it's due to components in the drivetrain that are heavy (ie: flywheel).
Old 10-30-2006, 01:58 PM
web
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member