Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Underhood gadgets, looking for performance or looking for?

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2005, 02:06 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Underhood gadgets, looking for performance or looking for?

I appologize if I offend anyone here but just have to say this as it is the real truth about something being talked about a great deal lately, torque dampers, etc.

They can work ok up to a certain point and definately are "Look at Me Item" though a bit more subtle than others.

There is a better performing, practically no cost, practically zero weight gain, way to get better results that takes a bit more effort and time but still not a difficult mod by any means.

I have talked about this a bit here and there on other threads and made a fairly long post just today but started this thread as many may not have seen it.

I have been modding imports for over 37 years now and have always been a DIY, backyard mechanic, find the best method for the lowest cost, etc, kind of guy and had alot of success in doing so. I will be the first to buy a superior product I cannot create myself, this is not one of them!

No onto the story here, about aftermarket torque dampers(etc)

"For a modest power increase, i.e. NA use, they can be quite good but still not the best as do not stop all the movement, just some of it and slow things down a bit as well. "

NOTE: On the tC, as many FWD cars, the side motor mounts actually carry most of the weight and they are a pivot point the motor swings on causing the issues with shifting, wheel hope, they are pretty significant power robbers. The lower mounts in the front and rear basically limit the travel, which is quite substantial as my turbo Matrix(almost identical layout) demonstrated on the many dyno runs it went through, the wheels would move back nearly 2.5"!)