Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Wheel bearings going out?

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2009, 10:56 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Wheel bearings going out?

hey guys. i have a 2006 tC manual trans. with about 50k miles on it. lately for the past several months, i have been noticing a sound (hard to describe but it sounds like "woo woo") whenever the car comes to a stop. it mainly happens if i throw the car in neutral and it slows down from say 20mph and then goes away at 10mph. the sound doesn't change if the car turns at that speed or if the speed goes up.

i've been running hotchkis lowering springs for many years now and have nitto neogen tires. the tires have been on for about a year or so now. could this be my bearings going out? if i take it to the dealership, i have a feeling they won't do anything because they'll probably blame my tires or my springs. but the noise is annoying though, unless i turn up the music. are bearings covered under basic warranty 30k miles or powertrain warranty 60k miles?
Old 12-12-2009, 11:12 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Team ScionEyed
SL Member

rotate ur tires and see if the noise is still the same.. check for un ever wear.. or just take a picture of the tread of ur front tires and post it here ill tell u
Old 12-12-2009, 11:19 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Originally Posted by weezyfbayba
rotate ur tires and see if the noise is still the same.. check for un ever wear.. or just take a picture of the tread of ur front tires and post it here ill tell u
i appreciate your help but i don't have a digital camera to take pictures. i will rotate my tires this week and see if it goes away. i do keep up on rotating my tires though. about every 3-5k miles.
Old 12-12-2009, 11:47 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Team ScionEyed
SL Member