Notices
Scion tC 1G Forced Induction Turbo and supercharger applications...

compression questions????

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2007, 06:10 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

Default compression questions????

ok im kinda new to the tuning and im learning as i go... im about to go turbo soon and i know that are cars cant handle to much boost on the stock block (to be safe for an everyday driver) well i heard a rumor that if you double up the gaskets on the head it will lift the the head up another millimeter thus changing the compression and if you lower the compression then youll be able to do more boost???? so is this true and if it is true, is it safe? all coments are accepted!!!
Old 04-06-2007, 06:29 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I wouldnt reccomend lifting the head to change the compression....

You can buy pistons and lower ur compression, goto dezod.com
Old 04-06-2007, 06:37 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

right i know you can do that... but like i said i had heard this and i was wondering is it true you can do it and is it safe????

i mean all your doing is adding another gasket and then tighten it down real good and technically you shouldnt have any problems??? right????
Old 04-06-2007, 06:38 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

i guess wat i should say is why would you not recomend it???
Old 04-06-2007, 07:22 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

no way would I recommend that.
Old 04-06-2007, 09:05 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Team ScioNRG

That is an awful idea.
Old 04-07-2007, 01:20 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

lol ok people.... your telling me thats you wouldnt recomend and that its a bad idea... but i want to know why..... why is it bad ???????
Old 04-08-2007, 12:22 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

The Myth of head lifting explained...

Here's when you may want to have a thicker head gasket...