Notices
Scion tC 1G Forced Induction Turbo and supercharger applications...

Compression Test/Idle Surging Update

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2007, 01:57 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Compression Test/Idle Surging Update

So i had another thread related to this posted earlier, but i have some useful information that i though maybe someone else could benefit from, so heres a new thread

First of all i had some idle surging or unstable idle which was worrying me.. along with a perceived loss of power (im fairly certain from the stock clutch is breathing its dying breath) To ease my paranoia i decided to do a compression test.

For those that dont know (probably very few) its a one (evidently old school) way to diagnose headgasket/piston/piston ring problems. Not as accurate as a leakdown test but may give you an idea of whats goin on. Since im sure there is someone out there who doesnt know how to do this I figured I'd try and offer some insight, but im no expert.

The basic procedure (someone correct me if im wrong here) is written below:

Now I'm not repsonsible if some how you destroy your car or your head or anything like that, and im no expert so take anything i say with a grain of salt but heres the basics. I'd obviously take the car to a mechanic if you get weridness but here ya go:

Test the car at OPERATING temperature (thank malloynx)

1. Disable Electronic Fuel Injection and Ignition by removing their respective fuse/relay from under the hood.

2. Disconnect all four spark plug wires and remove all four spark plugs.

3. Screw the compression tester into the head where you removed the spark plug. Hand tight. You can find a compression tester at your local auto parts store. I don't think they cost more than $50 or so but dont quote me on that.

4. Did you remember to disable the EFI and Igntion?