Notices
Scion tC 1G Forced Induction Turbo and supercharger applications...

help needed from turbocharged tc owners

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2006, 03:52 AM
5 Year Member

Default help needed from turbocharged tc owners

Well basicly i want to get my car turbocharged but i want to know what the max horsepower and torque the drivetrain will handle and the engine. i need first hand experience answers so that my car will last. i need owners of turbocharged tc to let me know of any problems with the tranny, limited slip dif., clutch,etc. and if you could tell me how much the drivetrain can actually take safely without having to change everything out. i'm a college student with enough to spend on the turbo but not a new car so please help.
Old 08-10-2006, 04:47 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member

uhhh, there's a FI forum...
Old 08-10-2006, 05:59 AM
10 Year Member

5 Year Member

SL Member
Team ScioNRG

depends on the transmission...

i would say the auto tranny can handle around 200whp safely while being a daily driver.
as for the manual, depending on if upgrade the components, i would say somewhere near 300whp safely, driven everday.

HOWEVER!
if you do not have enough money to cover the cost of the car in case something terrible happens, i wouldnt do something to the car that could possible destroy it.

sounds like you should go with the TRD SC to me.
both stock transmissions can handle the power safely, along with the engine. And in the worst case scenario, TRD has your back for 5 years/60k miles.
Old 08-10-2006, 09:49 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

If you can't afford to replace then engine then please do not turbo. The SC definitely looks like the FI answer for you. As to your question I agree with TheQuietThings except for probably only 250-280 WHP for manual would be a safe range to shot for.
Old 08-10-2006, 02:14 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member