Notices
Scion tC 1G Forced Induction Turbo and supercharger applications...

Super charger or?

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2006, 12:54 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Super charger or?

I'm a newbie an am started to put MODs on my car so for i got 20% tint all around,,tyc lights..an i ordered a vented cf hood that should be here soon..an i was wondering if i should get the super charger that scion makes or a turbo kit from somewhere else..any info on which would be better would help
Old 08-04-2006, 01:01 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Supercharger, made by TRD, will keep warranty if installed by dealer.

Turbo will not.

For the cost of the TRD, you can get a turbo and the necessary accessories...not to mention a lot more HP. But, then there is the issue of voiding the warranty if the turbo is responsible for a problem.

It's up to you and how you want to spend your money. Do a lot of research before you dive into something. With more kits coming to the market, expect the prices of turbos to fall. If you go the turbo route, take care of it and you should not encounter any problems.
Old 08-04-2006, 01:16 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

You'll get a lot of differing opinions on this one. Those of us with superchargers are probably going to say go that route, and those with turbochargers are probably going to recommend you choose those. I think it depends on what you want to do.

I bought my supercharger because it maintained my warranty and has a 5 year warranty itself, and could get it put on, and never worry about it again. With some mods, I could get more power, but that would interfere with the warranty. Just make sure you get it installed by a tech who knows what they are doing or you may experience problems in the future.