Notices
Scion tC 1G Forced Induction Turbo and supercharger applications...

Turbo not the way to go?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2009, 11:31 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Lightbulb Turbo not the way to go?

For those who are considered experts in this field, or those with an overwhelming knowledge around turbo FI, please realize I am just a beginner and I do not mean for this thread, nor my questions, to sound ignorant. Thank you.

I am seriously considering going turbo, and because of that, I have been doing all the research I can, and getting all the experience I can, on forced induction and turbo systems(helped my coworker install his sexy Dezod up in Mira Mesa, reading online, talking to friends, reading post after post after post on turbos, etc.). I am a fast learner, and I want to learn turbos. The problem that I am facing, having a fresh, and unbiased perspective on this, is that it "seems" like more often people have problems/issues with their turbos, than not. And, I noticed that whenever I browse the SL Classifieds > Engine & Drivetrain, there seems to be an abundance of people selling their turbo systems... more than anything else.

Long story short, my question is: Is turbo FI not the way to go? -OR- Are turbos not the problem, but the misuse and lack of proper tuning/education the cause of a lot of the problems?

It's just kind of scary, being fairly new to this, and wanting more power!, and seeing so many threads/posts about blown engines, bad experiences, etc.

Let me know what you think. I have respect for many of the members on SL, so I am hoping to get a lot of input, opinions(both professional, and otherwise), and experiences. Let's hear em...
Old 10-14-2009, 11:34 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

alot of people sell because either A. they need the money B. getting a different car C. changing it up for another set up etc.
Old 10-14-2009, 11:40 PM
10 Year Member

5 Year Member
SL Member

I must say for a noob thats not a bad post...