Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

alarm installers please chime in

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2007, 03:47 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Team N.V.S.
Scion Evolution

Default alarm installers please chime in

well, i was talking to a guy about installing a python 990 on my 07 tc and he told me that in order to be able to use remote start you have to put a key in the car so that it would bypass the imob. so i was wondering why he would need a key when dei makes a imob. bypass. so my question is, how does the imob. bypass work? do you have to program it with the key so that it can give that signal to the ecu for that second that you need to be able to use remote start? i'm wondering this because i've never heard of leaving a key in the car to use the remote start.
should i tell him to just install the alarm and do the imob. stuff my self? don't worry i know how to wire and i'm a tech for toyota so i have the resources. i'd install the whole alarm my self but its a PITA and too much work.
BTW, he's done many cars for my friends including a g35, 3 chevy trucks, galant and a couple others that i can't remember right now.
thanks and sorry for the long read.
Old 01-31-2007, 04:24 AM
5 Year Member

dei has remote start immob. parts for a lot of vehicle that don't need a key, but for toyota the only part you can use is the universal transponder. it tells the car that the key is in so start. you need the transponder if you havea chip in the key. a way you can test is to hook up the remote start, try to start it with the key out of the car. if you start you don't need it. if it doesn't stick the key in the ignition or hold it next to the the key cylinder. if it starts then, retest once more to make sure, sometimes the car will trick you (it sounds silly but car do like to play jokes on you)

P. S.