Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

AVIC-D1 problem with angle and eject button.

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2006, 02:12 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default AVIC-D1 problem with angle and eject button.

I am a installer at circuit city for car audio. Today I had a customer come in with a tc that had just gotten an avic-d1 installed at Best buy. Before I even ask my question, i just have to throw in that this install was very messy. There was just a big clump of wires behind the head unit all with these ____ty crimp caps.. I solder everyhing i do. Anyways, The reason the he came in was to get the metra kit that covers that gaps on the left and right of the unit. He also wanted his unit bypassed. I decided to just do the install on the side. I did the standard bypass for the avic-d1, where u pull a wire out the harness, put it in the open slot next to the ground, ground the wire and ground the park break. I thought everything was working, but the guy came back in about 10 minutes saying his angle button and eject button wasnt working. For some reason you had to hold down the eject for it to open, whereas normally u just hit it once for it to open to the cd slot, and hold it to go to the dvd slot. Also the angle button didnt work.. The guy even said when he pulled out he was able to adjust the angle, then he was playing with some settings and it started to act up.. I dont know what could be wrong why its doin that. And im afraid im going to get in trouble for bypassin the unit, and to top it off getting paid in cash on the side lol.. Oh and the final thing which he didnt mind was the door on the tc dash doesnt close all the way because of the combination of the side gap fillers along with best buys install job.
Old 07-22-2006, 05:50 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member