Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Help mag hardwire his PS2 DC adapter to a rocker switch

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2007, 08:02 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member

Default Help mag hardwire his PS2 DC adapter to a rocker switch

(Before we begin, just know that I have ZERO experience as an electrician. If I FUBAR any of the terminology, please let me know. haha)

So I want to be able to hook up my PS2 to my AVIC-D3. The A/V part of it is a gimmie; hook up the A/V cables to the back of the D3 and voila. The hard part is the electrical stuff. Because I also want to be able to toggle the DC-DC adapter I bought for it on and off via a GardnerBender rocker switch in the event that I take my PS2 out of my car. Ol' magnetic is in a pickle because he doesn't know too much about wiring.

This is the DC-DC adapter I got for my PS2 (slim):

I was entertaining the thought of just hooking into the cigarette lighter like everyone else does with their lights/radar detectors/coffee makers/etc. ...only problem is, I don't know how I'll be able to wire this guy up to the cig plug.

So I pried open the cigarette plug and this is what I got...sorry it's kinda blurry/dark:

To give you a better understanding, I made a diagram in good ol' MSPaint:

Inside the cigarette plug is 2 and a half wires. The black one, I can probably assume well, is my Ground. The white is probably my hot. Pink represents soldered points. But that red wire? It's soldered to the same metal (yellow) part as the black wire, and then it's routed through the spring and soldered at the opposite end of the spring where the 10A fuse sits.

If I want to cut this plug and use these wires and hardwire them into the tC and a GB rocker switch, how would I do it? Is it just a matter of grounding the black wire, and then route the hot wire to the live end of the rocker switch, and then from the load end of the switch to a fuse+T-Tapped positive wire of the cig plug?