Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Help a newb choose a new HU

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2006, 08:02 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Help a newb choose a new HU

Please bear with me since I am a total newb at car audio.

I was looking at crutchfield for a new head unit, and came across these that i like.

and

Now since I know absolutely nothing about car audio, what I want to know is...

1. Is kenwood a good brand.
2. What other brands should I consider
3. Main differences between the dpx501 and dpx701.

I am also open to other suggestions for other brands of HU's, but I have some criteria.

1. I prefer it to be a double din, I dont really like how the single din looks, but I will take single dins into consideration
2. It must be compatible with an IPOD. If the HU doesnt need any sort of ipod connector kit that would be even better.One of the things I liked about the two kenwood HU's I listed above is that they have USB input on the face of the HU, which I would be able to use to hook my ipod up to.
3. I am leaning towards a HU that is High Definition capable.
4. Must have a FM sensitivity of 8 to 12 dBf, preferably 8-10dBf.
5. Must be in the price range of $500-600 and below.

If all you audiophiles could chime in and help me that would be great.

Thanks,

John
Old 06-03-2006, 08:22 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Premium Member

kenwood is a good brand, and can compare to others like alpine, eclipse, pioneer.

If you want double din i would suggest going with the dvd/navi 6.5" screen type. I like the pioneer d1 which is what ill be getting by the end of the summer!

I would look into others since im not a kenwood fan? others can see different? for a double din your looking into between $5-700 used on ebay and between $7-1200 for a new one, both depending on which brand and model you choose. I know alpine and pioneer are ipod compatible. do some searches on ebay.