Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Questions about Custom Sub Enclosure.

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2006, 04:19 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Premium Member

Default Questions about Custom Sub Enclosure.

Hey guys/gals, i got another question to ask lol.

ok so i have the trunk of my car gutted. and i want to make an enclosure for 2 10" subs that i got. i want to be able to still have trunk space, because im a student and i come home on the weekends and i usually have a lot of stuff to bring back and forth from school to home, and vice versa. now what i wanted was to get rid of the spare (i have AAA lol so its all good haha) and put the subs in a box, either wood or fiberglass, under/or in the stock mat (the one that has the 2 tabs to reach the spare). and then get the scion trunk mat to cover it so the system was not visible.

On a scale of 1-10 how difficult would this be if i was to do this myself (i have no experiance doing something like this but i want to learn, and i dont wanna pay someone to do it, when i have a good feeling i can do it myself... know what i mean??) and which would be the best way to do it (wood box, or fiberglass)? and which would be the most cost effective (remember im on a tight College Student budget lol)? and i also want to be able to reach the rear stut bolts. because i plan on getting a rear strut bar (or the Ingalls Rear Shock Tower Brace), and coilovers so i dont wanna have to remove my sub box to gain access to those.

thanks, and any advice/pics would be schweet.

Old 04-01-2006, 05:44 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

I did it. I take it back, because it was hard.

Originally Posted by leonDB
I made this out of 3/4" mdf from Lowes'. Wanted something hidden and still wanted some cargo space. I made simple rectangular boxes before... this was tough. This was before the amp. I'll get pics of that later.

Old 04-01-2006, 05:48 PM
10 Year Member