Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Sub with built-in amp installation?

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2007, 10:11 PM

Default Sub with built-in amp installation?

Would the installation for a sub with a built-in amp be any easier than 2 separate units? I purchased an 8" Sirius SIR-PS1 Powered sub and want to install it myself ASAP.

I have no knowledge in audio systems whatsoever but I've been doing a lot of reading on these forums on subs and am gaining a little insight on what I might need to do.

Is anyone familiar with this type of sub?

Thanks,
Shane
Old 04-04-2007, 11:22 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member

It's easier because:

1.) You don't have to wire the amp to the sub
2.) Takes less space
3.) Weighs less.. maybe.
Old 04-04-2007, 11:34 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Several people here have such sub solutions (not me), and they've made threads and/or posted if you want to search. You'll also want to look at the various threads that show how to run power and signal wiring for an amp, because that's exactly what you're going to need to do. The only things you won't have to do is wire the amp to the sub and build an enclosure, but connecting your amp/sub will be the same procedure as installing a separate amp.
Old 04-05-2007, 12:37 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

If you have an aftermarket HU, then it shouldn't be too hard. Just run the power wire down the driver's side and the RCAs down the passenger's side. RCAs to HU. Push power wire through grommet underneath the steering wheel and pull it to the battery. (Stick your head where the pedals are and look up. You'll see the grommet.) All electrical after that. I had no prior experience and I did mine...