Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

subs and stock HU

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2005, 09:11 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default subs and stock HU

I want to get two 12'' Alpine type-r subs and a class D kenwood amp. However, i do not want to replace the HU because I spent the extra $$ to get the ipod hookup. Can i run the amp using a line out converter I have heard about on here? And what effect would that have on the music quality? Thanks for your help - i'm a newbie, haha
Old 12-07-2005, 12:51 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Yes you can use the Line Level Converter to get RCA's to the back....won't be the greatest sound...but it won't be too noticable either....
Old 12-08-2005, 04:22 AM
Banned
Scikotics
SL Member

I 2nd...u can absolutely use a line out conv with the stock HU, dats what I done...as far as the sq, my subs sound f'in great!! That don't mean yurs will, but the difference in sound q is so minimal that even a real audiophile would have trouble distinuishing. The main difference is that the voltage of the output from ur HU won't be as high as it would from an aftermarket HU...meaning you have to set the gain on yer amp a little higher...ie your amp has to work a little harder to play loud bass......really no biggie at all. Good luck
Old 12-08-2005, 05:52 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Are your front and rear speakers still stock? If they are your bass might be a little too strong for your stock speakers and you won't hear any music. I have a single 12" and it is just the right amount of bass for me. Not to mention that i have replaced my front two speakers with 100w compenent speakers which are pretty loud. Had my speakers not been replaced, i would not hear any music, just bass.

Just letting you know that you might not get the right bass to music ratio your looking for.

Good luck.
Old 12-08-2005, 11:14 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Originally Posted by audiobahntc