Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

want to get some components but i have a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2006, 03:36 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default want to get some components but i have a few questions

so im lookin at getting a set of JL Audio TR650-CSi. i have heard ppl talkin about how the stock front speakers are riveted in and how its a _____. can someone please explain what this is about. also baffles? what are they and will i need them. and should i get components for the rear too or just for the front and somthing like the JL Audio TR650-CXi which is a 2way. please leave the flaming behind. yes im a noob to car audio and i want to do it right the first time. thanks.
Old 04-17-2006, 04:16 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Team ScioNRG

It's not too hard to get the rivets out....A drill makes this an easy remdey, a drill with a drill bit makes it even easier

A baffle is just a spacer, sort of like a washer (at least when you are talking about components). The purpose of this is to either allow greater mounting depth, or to allow larger speakers to be custom mounted to a smaller facotry location.
Old 04-17-2006, 05:42 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

The JL's are great speakers, but I'd definitely stick with just a component system up front.... maybe a coaxial(2way) in the back if you like to have rear sound...

I'd look into Elemental Design... their eDi6000s component system is only $125 shipped and is a very nice sounding component set... www.edesignaudio.com
Old 04-17-2006, 05:47 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Team ScioNRG

I'd have to agree on the Coaxs in the back. Comps in the back will sound good, but won't sound remarkably better than coaxs unless you are physically in the back seat.
Old 04-17-2006, 06:40 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member