Scion tC 1G Owners Lounge
2005-2010 [ANT10]

what do you MT guys do on hills?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2005, 04:54 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default what do you MT guys do on hills?

i'm newer at stick shift, how do you guys with manual tranny's deal with hills? i prefer using the e-brake and then start off in first, letting the e-brake go when the car pulls.

i would like to learn the real way of using the brake, lifting up on the clutch till the friction point and then letting it fall back a tiny bit and giving it gas, but that seems kinda scary, especially because most people don't know you have a stick shift and are right up on your ___ when your on a hill. i'll have to practice on this hill in my neighborhood

any input is appreciated.
Old 01-09-2005, 05:06 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Honestly, and you probably don't want to hear this, I've been driving stick for a few years and when you're pulling away from a parking spot or stop on a hill, you've got plenty to do without having to use the e-break. I never have and don't touch it, except when I'm parked. When you're used to the car, you can quickly go from a stop with your foot on the break to the point where you're not moving forward (and breaking free of the road) but you're holding the car. The only problem is if you're on a really steep hill at a stop and it's wet. But that's why I got new tires. Keep practicing, and you'll be fine. No need for the break.
Old 01-09-2005, 06:00 AM
5 Year Member

Your doing it the right way when you feel the clutch grab the tranny you release the e-brake, it preserves the life of the clutch. It says it in your manual also. blipping or matching revs when you down shift to accelerate or just to make the ride a little easier also saves on the clutch.
Old 01-09-2005, 06:53 AM
5 Year Member