Notices
Scion tC 1G Suspension & Handling Coilovers, Shocks, Airbags, Swaybars...

is dropping my ride with only springs really that bad?

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2005, 01:10 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scinergy

Default is dropping my ride with only springs really that bad?

Someone told me dropping my tc 2 inches without coilovers is bad. Coul you explain this? I am a noob and cheap bastard too .
Old 09-07-2005, 01:14 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Dropping 2" with stock shocks will drastically reduce the lifespan of your stock shocks. You would be wise to install performance shocks like those from TRD or Koni at the same time as installing springs which will give you longer life and better performance.
Old 09-07-2005, 01:17 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scinergy

So.. how much will that cost me?
Old 09-07-2005, 01:27 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

The TRDs are about 450 from www.mcgeorgeparts.com, not sure about the where or how much the Konis are. Probably more than the TRDs
Old 09-07-2005, 05:21 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

maybee im dumb but how can you drop it with stock coils?
Old 09-07-2005, 05:40 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Instigator is right. The stock shocks are made to mate with the load-bearing capacity of the stock springs, changing either element would put undue strain on the assembly, and then its just a matter of time before it breaks. The proper way to lower a car is to get coilovers which are matched perfectly and which will incur no undue strain. Or you could get lowering springs and some sport shocks, but your savings will be negligable ie. $250 for springs, and maybe $120 per shock = $730, and TEIN BASICS run about $750 which are full coilovers. So now its all up to you.
Old 09-07-2005, 11:29 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scinergy

so if i buy tein basic i can pretty much install them my self correct?
Old 09-07-2005, 12:35 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member