Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

head questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2005, 12:23 AM
5 Year Member

Default head questions

How hard is it to remove the cylinder head on the 1NZ-FE? I think I read on another thread that you can do it with the engine in the car. I was wondering if anyone has tried porting and polishing the head for more power? Is there enough meat on the head to shave it down and go from 10.5:1 up closer to 11:1? Anyone try this yet? I'm new to fuel injection so I don't know how this effects the fuel curve. Are there any aftermarket intake manifolds out yet?

Seems like a lot of people are looking for power with turbo and blower options, but there might be 10-20HP hiding in head flow, manifold, and compression.

thanks for your time

Andy
Old 05-18-2005, 01:16 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Re: head questions

Originally Posted by Twiddler
I was wondering if anyone has tried porting and polishing the head for more power?
Nobody that I've seen

Is there enough meat on the head to shave it down and go from 10.5:1 up closer to 11:1?
Are you talking about shaving the deck?
I'm sure on an econobox's head there's plenty of flash/crap in the ports, but I haven't seen any pics of our heads.

Are there any aftermarket intake manifolds out yet?
None that I've seen.

Heads seem like a resonable place to pick up some hp. Our intake manifolds are short and seem pretty unrestrictive (though I've never seen the insides...) I'm sure some P&P of the ports would yield some decent gains w/o much sacrifice and w/o changing the power curves.
Old 05-18-2005, 01:47 AM
jct
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Is there enough meat on the head to shave it down and go from 10.5:1 up closer to 11:1? Anyone try this yet?
i'm not sure you wanna do this...

if you do you would have to run a higher fuel octane
Old 05-18-2005, 02:26 AM
5 Year Member