Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

oil catch can?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2006, 12:35 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default oil catch can?

what is the purpose of the oil catch can from greedy
?sorry dumb question but im kinda new at this.
Old 07-17-2006, 12:38 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Here read this it might help you out.
https://www.scionlife.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=118054
Old 07-18-2006, 06:37 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

basically it traps blowby oil or vaporized oil that can gum up your intake tract.

i dont exactly know if there are different variations in operation between different manufacturers,.
Old 07-18-2006, 09:15 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

It looks pretty. If you really NEED a catch can, you NEED a new engine. They are beneficial to turbo systems and cars with bad rings mostly. But most people buy them for looks.
Old 07-24-2006, 02:37 PM
5 Year Member

Originally Posted by DOHCtorJT
It looks pretty. If you really NEED a catch can, you NEED a new engine. They are beneficial to turbo systems and cars with bad rings mostly. But most people buy them for looks.