Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

AHHH! M/T Newb needs help!

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2004, 04:50 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Premium Member

Default AHHH! M/T Newb needs help!

Hey guys,
I have a problem when accelerating sometimes. I'm a M/T newb, but I think I'm getting really good at it. But sometimes, I will start from a stop, in first gear, and the car with bog > bounce > my foot will bounce as well hitting the gas more for a split second causing my car to go fast > car will bog again > repeat. It really makes me feel like a guy that doesn't know how to drive . I feel like Arnold Schwarzenegger in Twins.

Would getting lowering springs (TRD? Tanabe? Tein?) fix the problem? Or do I just need to learn how to drive? If so, what do I need to do? Does that mean I have to accelerate more, or what?

Thanks...
Old 03-30-2004, 05:27 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

your springs arent the problem. id just take some time to get ur driving down. everyone's a little shaky with the manual at first. and if u do go with springs...go with the tanabe df210's
Old 03-30-2004, 05:32 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Premium Member

It usually happens when going down an incline onto a road...I guess I'll just play with the clutch more...
Old 03-31-2004, 02:17 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Yea it almost feel like the car is leaping forward..... your not putting enough pressure on the clutch or your not holding in long enough.... just take your time.....
Old 03-31-2004, 02:29 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

It took me a while to get my shifting down pat. but over time I finally got it, just keep practicing...
Old 03-31-2004, 02:36 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution