Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Eclipse Nav install question

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2005, 01:04 PM
5 Year Member

Default Eclipse Nav install question

We're picking up our new tC next week, and as a surprise for my wife I want to get her an Eclipse AVN 2454 nav/dvd system. The prices on eBay aren't too bad, and I'm thinking of doing the install myself. However, I have never done any kind of electrical install on a car before. I'm an IT tech so building computers is nothing new, but car electrical systems scare me

So, how easy is it to remove the existing head unit, and what can I expect to find back there? Is installing the Eclipse going to be "plug and play" or will there be wiring and soldering involved? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Old 04-14-2005, 01:27 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

It's going to be super easy on the electrical front. The standard Toyota/Scion wiring harness is the same as the Eclipse harness (because Eclipse makes most of the standard Toyota head units.) You won't even need a wiring harness adapter, just unplug th estock stereo and plug in the Eclipse.

You might need to drill the bracket or something to position the AVN 2454 so the door will close. You might also need to make some filler plates to hid=e gaps on the side.
Old 04-14-2005, 04:48 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default I still want to sell mines

Interested?

Unit + remote $1,350 shipped. Money Order or Checks Only. Item will be sent when check clears.

https://www.scionlife.com/forums/vie...ab7f88e9e17873
Old 04-14-2005, 08:13 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

You will have to drill the brackets to get it to fit just right. As for the gaps in the side Toyota makes the trim pieces to accomplish exactly that. Here's the part numbers:

86221-52060
86221-52050