Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Subwoofer for xA questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2004, 02:50 AM
5 Year Member

Default Subwoofer for xA questions

I'm not experienced with vehicle audio setups, but i'm looking to possibly install a subwoofer into my rs 1.0 xA. The stock sound quality for me is ok overall, i'm not a big stickler for sound, happy that it plays my mp3's, but i want a little more power in the bass so some of my heavier songs don't sound as muddled in my car.

Basically what I want is
Something practical
I don't need to be able to knock down pedestrians with a booming thunder of bass, just give a better sound to my music.

small
I don't haul a lot of stuff, but i don't want to devote too much space in my xA's umm... trunk, if you can really call it that...

Economical
hrm... i think a better phrase would be "why pay more?" i have budgeted about $800 right now of play money on my car. however i don't wanna spend it all on just audio equipment.

Suggestions of brands, models, or setups or just what i could do would be very helpful. Thanks for the idea

and if it helps the type of music i listen to is a very wide range from classical music, to rock, jazz, and latin, so i guess what i'm saying is something that is useful for all types of music.

also dunno if subs are as sensitive as other electronic gear about the weather, but i'm livin' in new england, and it's COLD outside

Thanks for the ideas!
Old 12-30-2004, 04:35 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

infinity basslink. look it up.
Old 12-30-2004, 05:51 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scionetics
SL Member

Default XA bass

You should be able to get away with an 8 or 10" woofer given your wants. A small amp 250 watts or less should be more than enough. I hope you get what you are looking for. So many people want to sell big systems and they don't listen to the customers needs. Good luck.
Old 12-30-2004, 08:31 AM
10 Year Member