Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Suggestions on best in dash all-in-one DVD player?

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2006, 01:13 PM
5 Year Member

Default Suggestions on best in dash all-in-one DVD player?

I have another newbie question.. I've been looking around on members interior pics and seen alot of great in-dash dvd players. I'm looking for what you guys think is the best all-in-one player? I'm looking ideally for satellite, GPS, dvd playback (dvd+/-r) and touch screen, but the touch is less of a necessity. Please list estimated prices because I'm still a college student as well Thanks!
Old 05-15-2006, 01:35 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Well, the best all in ones.. My picks:

The cheapest being the Jensen VM-9021TS (about $600) is Nav ready ($500 kit req.) The Jensen comes with a TV tuner, as well as an iPod cable. This unit also features a touch screen, an SD card reader (that will play back most any video, picture, or song from your computer), and is XM ready.

Next in the road would be the Kenwood DDX-6019 ($750 or you can buy it with the navigation stuff for about $1300). This one has a slightly larger screen at 6.96" as compared to the Jensen's 6.5". Though it is a better brand, it does not come with an SD card reader, a TV tuner, or the iPod cable. This unit is also touch screen and satellite radio ready.

Finally, the Pioneer AVIC-Z1 ($1700) is at the top of the pile. Featuring a 7" video touch screen, built in navigation (No extra equipment required), a 30GB built-in hard drive for music storage and GPS map storage. This unit also features XM Navtraffic, which uses XM's traffic monitoring power in conjunction with the GPS to warn you ahead of time of any traffic jams or road hazards and help you avoid them altogether by rerouting your trip. Once again, iPod cables and TV tuners are extra.