Notices

Cheap wheels vs. expensive wheels

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2006, 04:36 PM
5 Year Member

Default Cheap wheels vs. expensive wheels

After doing a quick wheel search on Ebay I found a huge price difference on wheel sets. If I like the style of a $300 set of rims is there any reason I should not get them? I mean, it's not like they're going to fall apart, right. As far a affecting the ride, I think that would be all in the tire.

Sorry if this a lame question, I'm very new at this.

Thanks.
Old 05-17-2006, 04:40 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member

i would say they should not fall apart but look at it this way. you will get what you pay for some places on ebay sell complet $h*t. i would say the best thing is go to a shop or look in a mag for wheels the best place for tires in the world is discout tires you can pay like a extra $25 a tire for free lifetime replacement
Old 05-17-2006, 04:44 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

Sometimes you are paying for brand names. The big guys all run lots of ads in magazines and online. They also sponsor racers, tuners, and show cars--all costs money. On the other hand, sometimes you get what you pay for. Why don't you post what you are looking at and see if anyone has them already on their car. That is the beauty of this site, it is a community of Scion owners with lots of experiences that they share.
Old 05-17-2006, 04:45 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Be very careful with auto parts that are much cheaper than all the others. If it looks too good to be true, it probably is.

There's a lot of junk out there, and most of it is on eBay. Just shop around at well known online places (just search SL). That way you get a warranty, shipping insurance, and return policies.
Old 05-17-2006, 05:13 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member