Notices
Scion xB 1st-Gen Aero & Exterior Aero parts and exterior dress items...

Tutorial-Install xB OEM CF Spoiler

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2005, 11:14 AM
5 Year Member

Default Tutorial-Install xB OEM CF Spoiler

Recently I purchased a CF Spoiler on eBay that does NOT have the holes on top. The one I purchased was very good quality and I was thrilled until I started studying the dilemma I would have installing it

The sellers (innomotor) listing showed a CFS with holes and plugs on the top. However the spoiler I received did not have them. You will also note in his listing that he states that there are no instructions. I believe this may be because he doesn't even know how to install it.

Here is a link to the item he sells.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...960663164&rd=1

With this said... I have figured out how to install it. And the part I received is either a VERY GOOD knockoff of the bB OEM version, or as I believe it IS the bB OEM version. The inner cupped area (where it meets up with the top of the hatch) has TOYOTA, and part #'s embossed and a holographic sticker printed in Japanese Kanji. In addition, I believe the photos in this tutorial should convince most people that this style of spoiler without the caps on top is the “True OEM” version.

IF YOU CHOOSE TO INSTALL YOUR SPOILER, YOU ARE DOING IT AT YOUR OWN RISK! THIS INSTALLATION REQUIRES DRILLING HOLES AND MISTAKES ARE NOT EASILY REVERSABLE!! I ASSUME AND ACCEPT NO RESPONSIBILTY FOR YOUR ACTIONS!!!

LAYOUT

With the assistance of a helper, locate the spoiler on your xB (centered, and flush). then use a soapstone pencil or piece of chalk to trace around the mounting area.