First Generation 2004-2006.5 [NCP31]

leasing an xb

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2006, 04:16 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default leasing an xb

Hey guys, Im new to the whole buying a car thing, just turning 17 and no parental guidance, I was wondering what the pros and cons of leasing an xb would be, because I cannot afford to purchase one, but I would be able to lease it. Can anyone explain to what what eactly that is? thanks a bunch guys
Old 07-15-2006, 04:22 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

When you lease, the theory is that you are paying just for the use of the car and not to own. At the end of the lease period you walk away with nothing to show. It is like renting rather than buying a house. The downside is that there are often limits on the lease like mileage. If you drive more than 12 or 15 thousand miles a year a lease would not be for you as you would have to pay an extra cost per mile. When you buy you own the car at the end of the payments and there is no restrictions on mileage. The leases are more profitable for the dealers so they might push them over buying. If you go to the Scion site they have a feature that allows you to see what a lease would cost vs. a 4 or 5 year loan. Good luck!!
Old 07-15-2006, 04:44 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Not to rain on the parade, but I doubt you could lease at 17. In most states, I believe you have to be at least 18 to enter into a contractual agreement. You can't even rent a car from most rental companies until you're 25, because of their policies and insurance conerns.
Old 07-15-2006, 04:49 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Well, Im saving up some money first, so I will be 18 by that time, was just hoping toi get some info on it so I could start planning on what i wanna do.
Old 07-15-2006, 04:53 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

you can do that? i would try to put a down payment on it... build up you're credit... and never lease to own....
Old 07-15-2006, 05:42 PM