Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Exellent, Affordable 2012 XB Speaker Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2011, 12:42 PM

Default Exellent, Affordable 2012 XB Speaker Upgrade

I recently bought a 2012 Scion XB with the base Pioneer sound system and IMHO the highs were terrible (annoyingly edgy) and the overall sound flat sounding. I'm a musician, have built a couple of recording studios and listen to almost all my music driving in the car ('60s-'70s Classic Rock, old R&B and some oldies).

I talked to the top audio builder / installer in the area and he said "forget the rear speakers and put your money in the fronts because that's what you'll listen to" so, I skipped the cheaper BA S60s and went with these BA SC60s which after reading a bunch of reviews seemed to strike a reasonable balance between cost and sound.

Amazon Amazon

What an improvement these made! I've always been a Boston Acoustics fan for the warm sound and these didn't dissapoint. The highs are clear as a bell, a couple of acoustic guitar passages are soooo realistic and the real suprise was the bass. I was figuring to eventually add a sub when I saw that 55hz bass spec but no, the bass is smokin'! (I may still add the sub down the road but no hurries thanks to these).

I set the crossovers to -2db and it wouldn't hurt to go -4 for a perfect balance as the highs are a bit hot from this head unit. I have it set to "feel", bass to 0 and treble to -2 (that's why I suggest -4 on the crossovers to run the unit flat).
For those of us on a tight budget I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THESE!!!
Old 10-04-2011, 07:29 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Boston's are great speakers, though I wish I could get my hands on a set of ADS 320i comps (I'm dating myself here). No finer, smoother speaker made IMHO.
Old 10-10-2011, 12:29 PM