Scion xB 2nd-Gen Owners Lounge
Second Generation 2008-2015 [AZE151]

5% window tint?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2012, 11:41 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default 5% window tint?

Just wanted to ask you guys if you can see very well out your back window with 5% black window tint on your 2nd gen?

I had 5% on my XD but it was smaller :?
Old 05-09-2012, 12:30 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

No. You can't. In the daylight it's fine, because there is abundant light. With 100% light (a sunny day), the back window lets in 5%... when it's night, in a decent size city + moon, you're looking at ~20% light, 5% of that is 1%. Not very much light. If you have to back up, roll down your side windows and use your side mirrors... the XB was blessed with an amazing view of the sides using mirrors. I am an excellent driver, but to be honest, I have an issue backing up out of my driveway at night without putting my window's down as my neighborhood is purposely dark. We don't allow street-lights.

On the other hand, driving on the main roads is fine due to ambient light. I don't regret having 5% tint, but don't expect to see the type of car that's directly behind you at night without using your side mirrors.
Old 05-09-2012, 01:24 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Originally Posted by RJSCION
No. You can't. In the daylight it's fine, because there is abundant light. With 100% light (a sunny day), the back window lets in 5%... when it's night, in a decent size city + moon, you're looking at ~20% light, 5% of that is 1%. Not very much light. If you have to back up, roll down your side windows and use your side mirrors... the XB was blessed with an amazing view of the sides using mirrors. I am an excellent driver, but to be honest, I have an issue backing up out of my driveway at night without putting my window's down as my neighborhood is purposely dark. We don't allow street-lights.