Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen Owners Lounge
Second Generation 2008-2015 [AZE151]

Should I buy this car?

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2012, 08:31 PM

Default Should I buy this car?

Hi everyone, newbie here. I wanted to buy a late-model used Scion xb with about 50000 miles. The dealer just got a 1-owner 2008 xb with 95000 miles that they offered for $9990. To entice me to buy, they offered a really great deal on my trade-in, $4000 for a 1997 Buick Century with 56000 miles (my mom's old car). So the xb would wind up costing about $6000. I've been reading that the Camry engines routinely run to 200000-25000 miles.

So I would like to ask all of you with a lot of experience with xbs for your opinion about this deal. Are there any problems that might come up soon, like with transmission or something? Is there something else I should ask the dealer for before buying? I do have the Carfax, and I was planning on getting some extended service contract.

Thanks!
Old 12-02-2012, 09:45 PM

Wow, that's a great deal considering that the value on the Buick in probably about $500. Just make sure they're not putting in other "items" into the purchase of the vehicle that's offsetting the price. ( I have a feeling they are putting some BS doc fees in their to justify the trade in price)

If the mileage isn't an issue. I would grab it.
Old 12-02-2012, 10:11 PM