Notices

New Guy, Total Novice with some wheel questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2008, 03:52 AM

Default New Guy, Total Novice with some wheel questions

Hey all,

First, I would like to say that I am a brand new owner of a 2009 Scion xB in Stingray Metallic! I've always loved the Scions and now, I finally have one! This is also the first car that I have bought brand new and I am definitely excited with the possibilities of "Toasty" (the name that it has adopted so far by family and friends).

With that said, I am a total novice with cars and such and don't really know much, especially about wheels n tires so I have a few questions.

I am looking to change my stock wheels from 16s to 18s. I've found a few that I liked online but still haven't decided. I saw these:

and thought they looked really good. I liked the "holographic" border of the wheel; however, I've never seen anything like it. Where can I find a wheel like that?

Some information that I have been looking for is the weight of the stock wheels. The thing I am concerned with is the effect heavier wheels will have on the mileage. I am assuming that it will have a negative effect; however, I am not sure how much of a dent it will put. One of the wheels I am considering might be lighter than what the stock wheels are so will that help my MPGs?

Also, there was a TPMS thread that looks like it is a sticky on top of this sub-forum. The whole process of transferring them confuses me a little bit and I have read different stories on whether or not the TPMSs will fit. How much would it cost to have them transferred, registered, and such? Is there a way to calibrate the odo/speedometer as well (as I've also read somewhere that the accuracy of the gauges will change with new wheels)?

Sorry for all of these questions! I hope they weren't confusing as I am confused by them myself .
Old 07-23-2008, 04:01 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

first off, congrats on the purchase and welcome to SL!