Notices

Silver 09 on Gunmetal 17's - Pics

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2008, 06:18 PM
R3k

Default Silver 09 on Gunmetal 17's - Pics

SO here it is, just 160 miles and one week old.

MB Weapon Gunmetal 17x8 +42 on 235 - 45 - R17 Yokohama YK520's

Id like to publicly apologise to wrczx3 who is also running these exact same spec wheels. Sorry man, I really wanted silver on gunmetal, and my shortlist, after months of looking, was these wheels, and the Tenzo DC6's. The lower price and the (relatively) more conservative looks of the MB Wheels won out.

I went 17's because of ride quality concerns.

The Good:

I think it looks great
Discount Tire - it took 2 days to get there

The Bad

Im an audio engineer, it seems one of my problems is that I obsess over ride noise and vibration.... I dont enjoy the noise / ride impact of these wheels over stock... Maybe Ill just get used to it, or maybe there is something wrong.

Please give me your thoughts on these...

The Power steering motor makes noise when turning the wheels hard when stationary, didnt happen with stock... Larger wheels I guess.

I get a light grinding sound when doing slow hard turn, such as into a parking space. It's a similar sound to what you get when your breaks grind naturally. Not sure why this is happening.. There is no obvious signs of rubbing anywhere.

Stability - the car seems less in the groove when driving around, particularly on highways, than when I had stocks.

I also have a harder, rougher and noisier ride in general.

Can I attribute all this naturally to larger wheels, or should I have the car checked out?

I didnt get an alignment after they where fitted, should I?
If my installer didnt fit the hub centric rings, would I have noticeable issues as above?

Cheers!

Old 07-28-2008, 07:13 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

looks good... i almost got those in bronze...
Old 07-28-2008, 11:09 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member