Notices
Scion xD ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Painted interior and engine bay plastics - not 56K friendly

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2008, 08:43 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Painted interior and engine bay plastics - not 56K friendly

Hi all,
Well I just got the XD all put back together after painting some of the interior plastics, the engine cover and fuse box covers.
I also installed the Weapon-R Secret Weapon Air intake, but that is not covered here. I will write that up later in another post with it's own pics.

Here is a quick write-up, not too detailed, but enough to get you going if you want to do your own. Pics follow at the end.

Please note, I am not a mechanic or anything like that. I am also not responsible if you try this and screw it up. I am just describing my own experiences and how I did it. If you decide to try, you are on your own.

First I removed the large engine cover by grasping at the corners and just lifting it out.
Removing the two fuse box covers is self explanatory.
Then I removed the plates behind the four door handles on the interior. You just pull the door handle open, place a flat screwdriver in the gap and gently lever out.